Board of Directors

Jennifer Staple-Clark, Founder and Chief Executive Officer

In 2000, Jennifer Staple-Clark, then a sophomore at Yale University, founded Unite For Sight in her dorm room. Unite For Sight is now a leader both in global health education and in providing cost-effective care to the world's poorest people. She has been featured twice in Nicholas D. Kristof's columns in The New York Times, and cited in A Path Appears by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. Jennifer Staple-Clark was also featured weekly on CNN International in 2007 and 2008.

Jennifer is the recipient of the 2011 John F. Kennedy New Frontier Award, presented by the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation and the Institute of Politics at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government to "an individual whose contributions in the realm of community service, advocacy or grassroots activism have elevated the debate or changed the landscape with respect to a public issue or issues." In 2015, Middlebury College's Center for Social Entrepreneurship presented Jennifer with the Vision Award "to recognize leadership and vision in the world of social entrepreneurship." She is also the recipient of the Yale School of Public Health's Centennial Leadership Innovation Award. In 2013, she received the Praxis Award in Professional Ethics from Villanova University. Jennifer also received the American Institute of Public Service's 2009 National Jefferson Award For Public Service, which is regarded as the "Nobel Prize" for public service. In 2007, Jennifer was awarded a BRICK Award, which honors and funds change-makers who identify problems and work to change the world. She has also been featured in the book Our Time is Now: Young People Changing the World, as well as in many other publications.

Jennifer is the author of journal articles and book chapters about social entrepreneurship, best practices in global health, and community eye health. Additionally, she serves as a judge in social entrepreneurship competitions, including the Canadian Government's Grand Challenges in Health. A cum laude graduate of Yale University, Jennifer is also a member of the Yale University President's Council on International Activities, and on the Operating Board of the Yale Entrepreneurial Institute. Jennifer frequently gives presentations and keynote addresses about social entrepreneurship and global health.

Eric J. Bertrand

Eric Bertrand has served on the Boards of OptiCare Health Systems, U.S. Vision, Control F-1 and Versura, Inc. Currently with EJB Capital Management, he holds a Master of Business Administration in Finance and Entrepreneurship with a certificate in the Digital Economy from New York University and a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Bryant College.

Sachin Jain

Sachin Jain holds an MPH from Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and an MD from Rush Medical College, where he had founded a Unite For Sight chapter as a student. He is currently an attending hospitalist at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and an Instructor in Medicine at Harvard Medical School. From surveying the homeless in inner-city Chicago about barriers to health care to developing a cataract surgery program in rural Tanzania, Sachin Jain has worked internationally to increase access to health services and strengthen health care infrastructure in resource-poor populations. Sachin received an Albert Schweitzer Fellowship and a Health Award by the Health & Medicine Policy Research Group for his contributions to public health and work with underserved populations.

Yasha Modi

Yasha Modi holds an MD from Yale University School of Medicine, and he received his Bachelor's Degree from New York University. Currently an ophthalmology resident at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami, Yasha became involved with Unite For Sight when he founded a UFS chapter as an undergraduate at New York University. Yasha's interest in ophthalmology began at the LRBT Free Eye Hospital in Korangi, Pakistan, where he spent two of his high school spring breaks as a volunteer observing cataract surgeries and comprehensive eye exams. He also conducted research at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, where he used NMR resolution techniques to elucidate unusual DNA-quadruplex structures in solution. Since then, he has published his findings in the Journal of the American Chemical Society and the Journal of Molecular Biology. He has also pursued research in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery in the Department of Surgery/Cell Biology at New York University Medical Center, where he studied the MAP Kinase intracellular pathway in balloon-injured arteries in a dog model.

Julia Nemiroff

Julia Nemiroff holds an MD from New York University School of Medicine and is completing her ophthalmology residency at the Jules Stein Eye Institute at UCLA. She graduated Summa Cum Laude from New York Institute of Technology (NYIT), where she majored in biology. Julia's grandmother is blind due to macular degeneration that went untreated in Russia. Julia's passion and commitment to eliminate preventable blindness led her to found a chapter of Unite For Sight as a senior at NYIT. Under her leadership, the NYIT chapter was recognized as the 2006-2007 Unite For Sight Chapter of the Year, and Julia was honored as the Unite For Sight Chapter Leader of the Year. The NYIT chapter also raised the most money of all university chapters in 2007 and was awarded Unite For Sight's Humanitarian Service Award.

Medical Advisory Board

Dimitri Azar
Chair and Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Illinois at Chicago Department of Ophthalmology

James Clarke
Ophthalmologist and Medical Director, Crystal Eye Clinic, Ghana

Peter Egbert
Stanford Professor Emeritus of Ophthalmology; Director, Stanford Ophthalmic Pathology Laboratory; Director, Cataract Service, Stanford Department of Ophthalmology

Leon Herndon
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology, Duke Glaucoma Service

Robert Ritch
Shelley and Steven Einhorn Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology; Chief, Glaucoma Service; Surgeon Director, The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary, New York, NY; Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology, New York Medical College, Valhalla, NY; Medical Director and Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board, The Glaucoma Foundation; Member, Advisory Committee to the International Council of Ophthalmology

Kuldev Singh
Professor of Ophthalmology, Stanford University

Geoffrey Tabin
Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Director of Division of International Ophthalmology, John A. Moran Eye Center, University of Utah; Co-Founder and Co-Director of Himalayan Cataract Project

Shachar Tauber
Director of Ophthalmology Research Cornea and Refractive Surgery, Department of Ophthalmology and Optometry, St. John's Hospital and Clinics

Seth Wanye
Ophthalmologist, Friends Eye Centre, Ghana